• Home
  • Articles
  • Anne Horton: National Field Hockey Coach of the Year (2017-18)

Anne Horton: National Field Hockey Coach of the Year (2017-18)

By Hannah Wishart on April 16, 2019 coaches Print

The NFHS is proud to name Anne Horton of Columbus Academy in Gahanna, Ohio as the 2017-18 Field Hockey Coach of the Year!

Whether she's supervising football concessions, volunteering around her community or acting as assistant athletic director, Field Hockey Coach, Anne Horton is a constant presence around town. She takes her role as head field hockey coach seriously to make sure that she's setting the best example possible for her players. Coaches like her are the reason that high school sports have such an impact on today's youth. Columbus Academy should be proud of their coach, Anne Horton, who has been named 2017-18 NATIONAL Field Hockey Coach of the Year!

School: Columbus Academy

2017-18 Win/Loss: 18-3 | State Championships: 12

Coaching Highlights: West Region NFHCA Coach of the Year (2000-01), NFHS Sectional Coach of the Year (2001), Ohio Coach of the Year (2011), 

Inducted into Ohio Lacrosse Hall of Fame (2011), MOSAIC Award recipient (2012), 500th win (2017)

Philosophy of Athletics

Coach Horton's philosophy of athletics is based on providing a platform that allows athletes the opportunity to develop character values, and physical potential while the athlete strives for excellence. The environment should foster a safe place that allows the athlete to develop personally yet while testing one’s boundaries. The athletic experience is one of self-discovery as the athlete develops steady habits through perseverance, self-motivation and discipline. The other challenge is to promote team chemistry, as these social skills are necessary in the development of lifelong habits. Coach Horton believes that athletics presents a stage for accountability, leadership and resiliency as these are key baseline ingredients when blended with a rigorous work ethic one can discover their best. 

See all of the 2017-18 National Coach of the Year recipients by viewing our press release.