• Home
  • Articles
  • NFHS Swimming and Diving Committee Welcomes New Members

NFHS Swimming and Diving Committee Welcomes New Members

By NFHS on March 15, 2021 swimming & diving article Print

Jason Eslinger – Section 4
The NFHS is pleased to welcome Jason Eslinger as the new NFHS Section 4 representative of the Swimming and Diving Rules Committee. Eslinger will serve a four-year term (2021-24), replacing the former Section 4 representative Kerrie Schludecker. Eslinger is the assistant director of the Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union (IGHSAU) where he has worked for 24 years after serving stints in the sports information offices at Central Connecticut State and Drake University. The Grundy Center, Iowa native serves in a similar capacity at the IGHSAU and directs the softball, bowling, and swimming and diving programs. He has been the sport administrator for swimming and diving since 2008. Eslinger and his wife, Becky, have two sons, Jacob and Jaret, and reside in Prairie City, Iowa. 

Erin Coy – Section 7

The NFHS also welcomes Erin Coy as the new NFHS Section 7 representative of the Swimming and Diving Rules Committee. Coy replaces Jeff Meister, former Section 7 committee member, and will serve a four-year term (2021-24). Coy is the Swimming and Diving Tournament Coordinator for the Arizona Interscholastic Association, where she has worked since 2011. She also works full time for Mesa Public Schools (MPS) in the Athletic and Physical Education District Office. Prior to joining MPS in 2015, Coy spent 10 years working in aquatic administration. She has previously volunteered her time serving terms as Secretary for Arizona's USA Swimming Local Swim Club Board of Directors and assistant chair on the US Masters Swimming National Championship Committee. After growing up in California and attending college in Arkansas, Coy settled in Arizona in 2005, and when not working enjoys spending time with her husband (a high school swim coach of 25 years) and son (12) at the lake, playing cards and opening her home to family and friends for get-togethers and meals.

Joe Plack – NFHS Officials Association

Joe Plack is the new NFHS Officials Association representative of the NFHS Swimming and Diving Rules Committee. Plack will also serve a four-year term, replacing former Jeff Chatlosh. During his 52 years as an Illinois High School Swimming and Diving Association official, Plack has worked with the Illinois High School Association (IHSA) in many capacities.  He is a 22-year member of the IHSA Swimming and Diving Advisory Committee. During his involvement, many changes were made by the IHSA Advisory Committee to improve swimming and diving officiating.  An IHSA Clinician and Rules Interpreter since 1997, Plack has also served the IHSA as the Illinois High School Swimming and diving meet referee 30 times, diving referee 14 times and the meet starter 11 times. Joe was inducted into the Illinois State University Sports Hall of Fame in 1976 where he lettered four years in Men’s Swimming and Men’s Golf. 

In 2004, Plack was recognized as the Official of the Year by the Illinois Swimming Association.  He was inducted into the Illinois Swimming Hall of Fame in 2005 and was honored by the Illinois High School Association with the Distinguished Service Award in 2011. Plack was also honored with the IHSA Outstanding Official Award in 2012. He is a 1970 graduate of Illinois State University, earning a Masters of Business Administration degree from Roosevelt University in 1976 and a Masters of Accounting degree in 1978.

The NFHS Rules Writing Committees consist of experts in their given sport or activity and each are nominated by their state association. The committee chair works with the NFHS liaison to prepare the annual meeting agenda, chairs the meeting, and guides the committee through the rules proposal deliberation process. Committee members represent one of the eight sections as divided by the NFHS Bylaws. Each member obtains feedback from their section regarding submitted rules proposals. A member of the NFHS Coaches Association and the NFHS Officials Association also serve on the committee and represent their constituent group. Each committee member serves a four-year term. The 2021 NFHS Swimming and Diving Rules Committee Meeting takes place in a virtual setting March 21-23, 2021.