• Home
  • Articles
  • Track and Field Rules Committee Welcomes New Members - 2020 (1)

Track and Field Rules Committee Welcomes New Members - 2020 (1)

By nfhs on September 24, 2020 Track & Field/Cross Country article Print

NFHS rules writing committees consist of experts in the given sport.  Each committee member is nominated by state associations, as is the chairperson, who guides the members through their work.  Each of the NFHS’s eight sections are represented on the given rules committee.  To allow for equal representation, there is also a member of the NFHS Coaches Association and the NFHS Officials Association on each rules committee.  Each committee member serves a four-year term.

The NFHS is pleased to welcome four new members of the Track and Field Rules Committee: Cody Inglis, Paul Neidig, Mike Whaley, and Shannon Whitmer

Cody Inglis, Chair, has been an Assistant Director with the Michigan High School Athletic Association (MHSAA) since January of 2014 after serving for 20 years as a teacher, coach, athletic director, assistant principal and principal at Suttons Bay High School (1995-2007) and at Traverse City Central High School (2007-2014).  While at Suttons Bay, Inglis coached both Boys and Girls Cross Country and Track as the Head Coach for all programs for 13 years.  Inglis successfully guided his programs to Conference, Regional and State-Runner-up finishes and coached over 25 All-State athletes and 3 state champions in Track. 

At the MHSAA, Inglis has direct responsibility for the sports of Cross Country, Ice Hockey, Bowling, Golf, Downhill Skiing and all Junior High/Middle Schools in Michigan.  He also assists in Track and Field and is involved in both the administration and instructing of the MHSAA Coaches Advancement Program.  

Inglis also competed in high school (Portage Northern, MI) and college (Hope College) in both Cross Country and Track and Field, earning Academic All-America honors and serving as Captain in both sports.  A native of Pembroke, Ontario, Canada, Inglis is married to wife Carrie and together they have three sons, Reid, Nolan and Ty.  They reside in DeWitt, Michigan where Cody coaches all three boys in youth athletics, including hockey, baseball and soccer.  

Jared Chizek, Section IV, is an Assistant Director with the Iowa High School Athletic Association. Jared joined the IHSAA staff in 2012 and since 2014, has served as the organization’s track and field and cross country administrator. He is a member of the Iowa Association of Track Officials and has worked the Drake Relays since 2015. Recently, Jared was named to the Drake Relays Committee.

In addition to his responsibilities with track and field and cross country, Jared is also the IHSAA’s swimming and co-baseball administrator. Jared earned a B.S. in Accounting and Management and a MBA from Iowa State University. In 2017, Chizek received a CAA designation from the NIAAA. 

Mike Whaley, Section VI, is currently serving as the Associate Director for the Oklahoma Secondary Schools Activities Association.  After a 30-year career as a coach, teacher and school administrator in the Oklahoma, Mike began his time at OSSAA as the Director of Officials and Director of Baseball in 2009. In 2017 he became the Associate Director and moved to Track and Field, Football and Basketball administration.  He has served the NFHS on the Football Rules Committee, the Officials Advisory Committee and the Baseball Rules Committee.

Shannon Whitmer, Section VIII, is in her 24th year as a teacher and coach in the Pocatello School District in Pocatello, Idaho. She is currently teaching Health Professions, Medical Terminology and Health at Pocatello High School.  She coaches the Cross Country and Track and Field teams at PHS, they have been very successful with a number of individual and team champions. 

Shannon is very involved in many aspects of track and field. She is the Assistant Meet Director for the Simplot Games, is a Camp Director for a summer track camp, organizes a summer track club and volunteers at a local marathon and college meets.  She also is a representative for the Idaho State Coaches Association and sits on the sports Board of Control for her District.

The new members take over for Brad Garrett (Chair), Cody Inglis (Section 4), Jenn Roberts-Uhlig (Section 6) and Jeff Carpenter (Section 8). All outgoing committee members served the membership well. The Track & Field Rules Committee Meeting will take place June 15-17, 2020 in Indianapolis, IN.